World Cup 2013 in England

RLWC2013

So, we’re getting a World Cup in England! Yay! Admittedly it didn’t work out so well last time, but it worked the time before that and the last World Cup was a success in its own right. Most importantly, this is being planned four years out, which allows for ample preparation time (a rarity in Rugby League). 

It’ll be interesting to see what format they use. It’s been pretty much said there will be twelve teams, which seems about right to me (especially as three groups of four would bypass the need to have byes, which proved crucial in determining the final group tables at the last world cup). I would like there to be three groups of four, with two big sides in a group that gets two semi-final spots (then it could open with an England-Australia game somewhere). I’m not sure there’s such a great need for a Super Group this time, but I worry that’s the direction the organizers are heading in. Although the format generated exciting games, it also attracted a lot of ire and basically forced Papua New Guinea out of a semi-final spot. 

It will also be interesting to see what venues are used. I think that the plan to mainly use stadiums in the heartlands is a sensible one, especially after the 2000 World Cup. However, I also think it’s worth pointing out that Super League rugby is played in London, Bridgend / Newport and Perpignan, and it’s worth playing games there. I think playing the opening game in a largish venue in London (particularly if it’s England-Australia) should be seriously considered, as should a game at The Stoop. If Wales and France qualify, then they should probably get a home game each (at least). 

The venue for the final could be intriguing as well. It would be nice to think we could get a big crowd at Wembley, but I think that would require England to be there and I doubt the RFL have that much confidence. I would be more than happy with a final at the City of Manchester Stadium, where I once saw an excellent crowd generate a lot of atmosphere for a GB-Australia test in 2004. It’s a large modern stadium and I think it should be where the Tri-Nations final should be every time it’s in the Northern Hemisphere. 

Anyway, I’m just glad that there’s a tournament on and that we now have something to look forward to. Hopefully the success of the last world cup can be built on to make the tournament an outstanding success. I look forward to getting my tickets already!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

