Crystal Ball: Week 11

Crystal BallAnother week, another chance for me to barely break even with my picks. Curse this seemingly unpredictable league!

Leeds Rhinos beat Harlequins RL by 26

So Leeds look to have gotten back on track against Huddersfield last week, whilst Quins are in a patch of mediocrity. All signs point to a home win here, although I think Leeds will win with a scoreline that flatters them somewhat. 

St Helens beat Bradford Bulls by 28

I expect an improved performance by the Bulls here, but an improvement on absolutely awful probably still isn’t going to be enough to be Saints away.

Salford City Reds beat Hull FC by 4

Under any other patch of form I would probably take Hull here, but they haven’t been good at all of late whilst Salford have shown signs of potential. Not confident about this pick at all though, as Hull really do need a victory to reignite their season. 

Celtic Crusaders beat Castleford Tigers by 2

No particularly logical reason for this pick. I just think that Celtic are due a win (they haven’t been that bad, really) and I wonder where Castleford’s heads are at following both the mauling by Saints and Joe Westerman’s health incident during that game.

Hull KR beat Catalan Dragons by 14

I like Hull KR a lot this season, and I’m not entirely convinced about the Dragons’ away form (although they are getting there at home). It should be an entertainingly bruising game. 

Wakefield Trinity Wildcats beat Wigan Warriors by 2

I’m torn by this game. On  the one hand, Wakefield have already beaten Wigan once this season and they appear to be in-form. On the other, Wigan have improved a lot since opening day and might just have revenge on their mind. In the end, I think home advantage should carry Wakey through here. 

Huddersfield Giants beat Warrington Wolves by 5

Well, this goes completely against the last results of each team. However Huddersfield are much better away for some reason, and I’ve been burnt picking Warrington far too many times already this season (no doubt they’re going to go on a spell of burning me by winning when I pick against them…).

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Crystal Ball: Week 11”

  1. Wiltshire Rhino Says:

    First time I’ve looked at your blog (linked from Fans Forum). Looking at your predictions, with the aid of hindsight, gave me a great laugh on a wet Monday morning in Wiltshire.

  2. mike13xiii Says:

    *grumbles*

    The thing is, the only pick I actually regret was the Celtic one (and maybe the Warrington one). By far and away my worst week of predicting.

Leave a Reply

