Crystal Ball: Easter Special Part 1

WebTypical, I get a load of work dumped on me just a lot of interesting stuff goes on in the RL world. Le sigh… anyway, it’s Easter Weekend, which means an absolute shedload of Super League action to get your teeth into. Here’s how I see the Good Friday round of games going…

St Helens beat Wigan Warriors by 14

I’ve been burnt by good feelings about Wigan before, so I’m going with the safe option. Martin Gleeson will probably make his debut against a former club, but it could be a painful one as Wigan’s record against Saints in Easter clashes has not been good of late. I don’t think they’ll sink to the lows of the last few years, but Saints do appear to have a head of steam right now.

Harlequins beat Catalan Dragons by 16

Definitely going against the form book here, but I think that Catalan’s comeback win over Bradford will have been draining and they’re due a crash, whilst Quins lost heavily to a Giants side that appear to be their bogey team. Add to that they they’ve rebounded from defeat pretty well this season and I can see Quins toughing out the win here.

Huddersfield Giants beat Celtic Crusaders by 22

I’m liking Huddersfield a lot this season. They appear to have got over that inconsistent streak they started the season with, and not appear to be hitting a rich vein of form. That should be enough to deal with an admittedly improving Crusaders side. 

Hull FC beat Hull KR by 4

This choice is mainly due to home advantage, and also because I think FC need a win to stop the rot. They’re also due a good win against KR. 

Warrington Wolves beat Salford City Reds by 26

How will the Wolves do in the post-Gleeson era? I imagine they’ll start off with a win against a struggling Salford side. Tony Smith appears to have finally dealt with some of the things at the Wolves, and I think they’ll prove to be too much for the Reds.

Leeds Rhinos beat Bradford Bulls by 14

Both of these sides had tough defeats in the Cup, but I think that Bradford’s will prove more damaging. Leeds seem to have the Bulls’ number at the minute, and I suspect they can force a victory without being truly dominant here.

Castleford Tigers beat Wakefield Trinity Wildcats by 8

Two much improved sides here, meaning that I’ve got to go with home advantage. I expect Wakefield to be really up for the local derby and to try and get their season back on track, but I’m liking Castleford’s attacking prowess at the minute and think they’ll scrape by in a bruising encounter.

Leave a Reply

